A complete ecosystem for UPSC Civils and State PSC Preparation

Art and Culture MCQs – 2 (Classical Dances of India)

Classical Dances of India MCQs with answers and detailed explanations.

Recommandation :-  Read Short Notes on Socio-Religious Reform Movements of Modern India before attempting the questions.

1. The origin of classical dances of India can be traced to which among the following texts ?

(a) Natya Shastra

(b) Rig Veda 

(c) Purans

(d) Upanishads

Correct Answer:  (a) Natya Shastra

  • Classical Dances of India are the traditional Indian dance forms whose origin can be traced from the Sanskrit text – ‘Natya Shastra’ by Bharata Muni. 
  • The ‘Natya Shastra’ is one of the oldest surviving ancient Indian works on performance arts.
  • It describes in detail the technique, postures, emotions, ornaments and even audience for dance performances.

2. Which of the following aspects symbolizes the feminine features of a dance ?

(a) Lasya

(b) Tandava 

(c) Nataraja

(d) None of the above

Correct Answer:  (a) Lasya

‘Natya Shastra’ defines two basic aspects of Indian Classical Dances – Lasya and Tandava.

  • Lasya :
    • Symbolizes the feminine features of a dance.
    • It expresses happiness and is filled with grace and beauty.
  • Tandava :
    • Symbolizes the male aspect of dance.
    • It also symbolizes the cosmic cycles of creation and destruction.

3. Which of the following is not a component of Indian Classical Dances ?

(a) Natya 

(b) Nritya 

(c) Nataraja

(d) Nritya 

Correct Answer:  (c) Nataraja

  • There are three main components of Indian Classical Dances.
    • Natya ( Dramatic element of the dance i.e. the imitation of characters)
    • Nritya ( Expressional component i.e. Mudras or gestures) 
    • Nritta ( Pure dance movements in their basic form)
  • Nataraja is a representation of god Siva as the cosmic dancer.

4. Which of the following is NOT a classical dance of India ?

(a) Bharatanatyam

(b) Kuchipudi

(c) Sattriya

(d) Ramlila

Correct Answer:  (d) Ramlila

  • The Sangeet Natak Academy recognizes eight Classical Dances :
    • Bharatanatyam
    • Kathak
    • Kuchipudi
    • Odissi
    • Kathakali
    • Sattriya
    • Manipuri
    • Mohiniyattam
  • The Ministry of Culture recognizes nine Classical Dances. It includes ‘Chhau’ in its list of classical dances.

5. Which of the following dances is also known as ‘Ekaharya’ ?

(a) Bharatanatyam

(b) Kuchipudi

(c) Sattriya

(d) Kathakali

Correct Answer:  (a) Bharatanatyam

  • Bharatanatyam is also known as ‘Ekaharya’ as one dancer takes on many roles in a single performance.
  • It is the oldest classical dance.
  • It Symbolizes the element of fire as movements in Bharatanatyam resemble a dancing flame.

6. Which of the following dances originated in Uttar Pradesh ?

(a) Kathak

(b) Kuchipudi

(c) Sattriya

(d) Kathakali

Correct Answer:  (a) Kathak

  • Traditional dance which traces its origin back to the Ras Leela of Brajbhoomi. 
  • Only Indian classical dance has a synthesis of Hindu and Muslim traditions.
  • Known for the development of different Gharanas (Lucknow, Jaipur, Raigarh, Banaras).
  • Only classical dance based on Hindustani style of music.

7. ‘Jugalbandi’ is a feature of which of the following dances ?

(a) Kathak

(b) Kuchipudi

(c) Sattriya

(d) Kathakali

Correct Answer:  (a) Kathak

  •  ‘Jugalbandi’ is a competitive play between the dancer and the tabla player.
  • It is a feature of Kathak dance.

8. ‘Maharis’ and ‘Gotipua’ are the styles of Which of the following dances ?

(a) Odissi

(b) Kuchipudi

(c) Sattriya

(d) Kathakali

Correct Answer:  (a) Odissi

Odissi dance:

  • Two styles of traditional Odissi :
    • Maharis (Devadasis or Temple Girls).
    • Gotipua ( Performed by Boys).
  • State – Odisha 
  • It symbolizes the element of water.
  • The dancers create intricate geometrical shapes and patterns with her body.
  • It is characterized by various Bhangas (Stance) – Two basic postures are Chowk (imitating a square) and the Tribhanga.

9. Which of the following dances is not prevalent in Kerala ?

(a) Kathakali

(b) Mohiniyattam

(c) Sattriya

(d) All of the above

Correct Answer:  (c) Sattriya


  • It is a blend of dance, music and acting (‘Katha’ meaning story and ‘Kali’ meaning drama) prevalent in Kerala. 
  • Symbolizes the element of sky.
  • The dancers enact the roles (kings, gods, demons etc.) of the stories with particular make-up and costume.


  • It is a classical solo dance performed by women. 
  • It is interpreted as the dance of ‘Mohini’, the female form taken by God Vishnu to kill Bhasmasura. 
  • Symbolizes elements of air.


  • It was introduced by the great Vaishnava saint, Sankaradeva for propagation of the Vaishnava faith in Assam.
  • Main themes of the dance are mostly on Radha-Krishna
  • Performed by both male and female.

10. ‘Chhau’ is a dance form prevalent in which among the following states ?

(a) Manipur

(b) Uttaranchal

(c) Jharkhand

(d) Rajasthan

Correct Answer:  (c) Jharkhand

  • ‘Chhau’ dance is a blend of folk, tribal and martial arts prevalent in Jharkhand, West Bengal.
  • It has three different types originated from three different regions :
    • Seraikella Chhau 
    • Mayurbhanj Chhau 
    • Purulia Chhau